I Can’t Work Without …

“Before I jump into a new project, I need to clear my desk. It helps me stay focused. I know it’s old-fashioned, but I still love paper—most of the creative people I know do. I have a dedicated pile of papers fastened with binder clips for every person on my team. I like the simple stainless ones best.”

Style Definer

Perennial Pattern

Created more than 70 years ago by Swedish designer Josef Frank, the Citrus Garden pattern is everywhere right now (check out #citrusgarden on Instagram). “It resonates with so many people because it brings instant joy. It’s also modern and friendly at the same time, which is a difficult combo to come by.”

Little Ways to Wow

“Style isn’t always about making a big splash. You can add it in small doses. Bold, eye-catching wallpaper in the back of cupboards or between shelves in bookcases is a wonderful way to make a big statement in a small way.”

Best Advice

Interior designer Thomas O’Brien once told me, “It’s fine to embrace lots of different styles as long as they are unified by color.” It sounds simple, and it makes sense.

Zoom Refresh

Upgrade your video meetings with a style-savvy background by downloading a classic Schumacher pattern for free at their home decor blog, The Edit.