One often overlooked trick I’ve developed is to create an apartment move-in checklist, even if your new place isn’t your first apartment. The last thing you want after an exhausting move is to realize that you forgot to buy something essential. This happened to me many times; I once went to take a shower only to realize I forgot to buy a shower curtain. Another time, I lived in the dark for one too many evenings because I forgot to buy a lamp to compensate for a lack of overhead lighting. There are also a handful of things you need for an apartment that aren’t commonly considered necessities but are pretty important for comfortable living. For example, without throw pillows, which usually don’t come with couches, you won’t have a lot of back support when sitting on your couch. Or, if window treatments don’t seem like a top priority, you can apply privacy window film to let the light in while maintaining privacy. I’ve rounded up a handful of functional, money-saving apartment necessities that provide comfort or additional space for your new place.

Living Room

Kitchen

Bathroom

Bedroom